ASP 2019 Annual Awards Gala

2019 ASP Awards Gala
Dinner and Awards Presentation


Saturday, November 9, 2019

5:30pm – 10pm

DoubleTree by Hilton
San Francisco Airport Waterfront

835 Airport Blvd.
Burlingame, CA 


Gala ticket purchase deadline – November 3


Each year the ASP honors and recognizes the ASP Awards Recipients for their leadership in and advancement of astronomy and space science. Join us as we present the prestigious Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal (awarded since 1898) for lifetime achievement in astronomy research. This year’s recipient is Dr. Martha P. Haynes who has made major contributions to our understanding of the composition, interactions, distribution, and evolution of galaxies in the universe throughout an impressive research career spanning over 40 years. 

The ceremony also features presentations of six additional awards, including the reverred Arthur B.C. Walker II Award, presented to Dr. William M. Jackson, Jr., a renowned astrochemist who has studied the chemistry of comets, and in particular, how the free radicals observed in comets are formed and has worked tirelessly to diversify STEM fields throughout his career. 

  • Date: Saturday, November 9, 2019
  • Time: 5:30 Reception. 6:30 Banquet and Awards presentation.
  • Location: DoubleTree/Hilton - 835 Airport Blvd, Burlingame, CA
  • Directions: links to the DoubleTree Hilton website

Visit our Awards Webpage for details on all of our 2019 Awards Recipients